The Whistler Independent Book Awards
Canadian Autors

WIBA 2019 Shortlist Announced

There were a large number of entries from all across Canada for this year’s Whistler Independent Book Awards. The overall high standard of the titles submitted reflects the professionalism of Canadian self-published authors, and competition in both categories was strong.  The evaluating committee reviewed all the entries and is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2019 WIBAs.

The fiction nominees are:

Mark Cameron for 17 Weddings
Neil Chase for Iron Dogs
Maggie Dwyer for What the Living Do
Edythe Anstey Hanen for Nine Birds Singing
Bretton Loney for The Last Hockey Player
Ann Shortell for Celtic Knot: A Clara Swift Tale
Diana Stevan for Sunflowers under Fire

The non-fiction nominees are:

Bill Arnott for Gone Viking: A Travel Saga
Jacqueline Carmichael for Tweets from the Trenches
Anna Dopico for To Make Riders Faster
Tina Martel for Not in the Pink
Manuel Matas for The Borders of Normal
Jarem Sawatsky for Healing Justice: Stories of Wisdom and Love
David Wilding-Davies for My Cattle Look Thin

The shortlisted nominees will be judged by Canadian Authors members and the finalists will be announced July 16, 2019.

Every book submitted was professionally read and assessed. Authors not shortlisted will receive their evaluations by July 16, 2019.

The Whistler Independent Book Awards provide independently published authors with a unique opportunity to have their work recognized through a juried process.

Winners will be announced at the 18th Whistler Writers Festival, 17–20 October, 2019.