Whistler Writing Society
Canadian Authors Association
The Writers' Union of Canada
Whistler Writing Society
Vivalogue Publishing

WIBA 2023 Finalists Announced

The Canadian Authors Association judges have reviewed this year’s shortlisted books and we are pleased to announce the finalists for the 2023 Whistler Independent Book Awards.

The fiction finalists are:

Jill MacLean for The Arrows of Mercy
Bernice Santos for Ghosts of a Cure
Tom Stewart for Immortal North

The non-fiction nominees are:

Marilyn Carr for Nowhere Like This Place: Tales from a Nuclear Childhood
Bob Henderson and Sean Blenkinsop (editors) for Paddling Pathways: Reflections from a Changing Landscape
Chief Robert Joseph for Namwayut: A Pathway to Reconciliation

The children’s nominees are:

H. Pham-Fraser (illustrations Akemi) for The Little Girl
Helen Row Toews for The Legacy: Volume Three of the Runstaff Chronicles
Rud Verhagen for The Last Green Dragon

The finalists will be judged by the WIBA 2023 judges and the winners announced at the Literary Cabaret at the Whistler Writers Festival on Friday, October 13.

Every book submitted is peer-reviewed and assessed. Authors not shortlisted will receive their evaluations by August 15, 2023.

The Whistler Independent Book Awards provide independently published authors with a unique opportunity to have their work recognized through a juried process.